2013 Canadian Thanksgiving

Parsnip and Thyme au Gratin

Parsnip and Thyme au Gratin

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving to everyone out there!

This year I gave up on the idea of cooking a whole bird.  I few years back I tried to make turkey, then chicken, to this year’s minced turkey.  I just can’t do it.  And I didn’t!  Scott, made the turkey’s shepard’s pie and I would say it was the most successful turkey dish made to date!

Scott's Turkey Shepherds's Pie - Similar to 3 layer dip: Mashed potato, mashed carrot, ground  turkey.

Scott’s Turkey Shepherds’s Pie – Similar to 3 layer dip: Mashed potato, mashed carrot, ground turkey mixed with leek, peas and corn.  Delicious!

We ran out of light when we finally ate.

We ran out of light when we finally ate.

He then got clever and roasted beets cutting out little flowers from them.

2013 Thanksgiving-3118

Cut-out roasted beets

Paired with mixed greens, it made a very lovely beet and crumbled goat cheese salad.

2013 Thanksgiving-3119

It didn’t even require dressing

So, what did I do?  Well, I saw an amazingly gorgeous Pinterest on parsnip au gratin.  It looked so good, I had to try it for myself:

Several layers of parsnip, onion, thyme, and gruyere.

Several layers of parsnip, onion, thyme, and gruyere.

The end product looked so much like potato au gratin my brain couldn’t make the switch. With each bite my brain expected it to taste like creamy, cheesy potato.  Instead it would taste like creamy carrot.  😦  At least it took pretty pictures:

Not a fan of the carrot and cheese flavour combination.

Not a fan of the carrot and cheese flavour combination.

Good thing Scott liked it.  He has a lot to eat. 🙂

Knowing Scott enjoys panna cotta, I also attempted a pumpkin variant:

Pumpkin panacotta

Pumpkin panna cotta

You can see in the picture that my mixture separated.  The only change I made was to use the 3 sheets of gelatin over the powder.  It looked very mixed when I made it so I don’t know what went wrong.  The top layer became very thick – almost like plastic, and the inside, whilst creamy, was too creamy for me.  I’ll leave this dessert to the experts. :X

I used an entire litre of whip cream for just my part of Thanksgiving dinner.  It was too much.  I may have ruined whip cream for myself.

The beet cut-outs meant we had a lot of beet scraps to use which Scott blended.  So, what do people  do with beet mush?  According to the internet: make baby food, or pancakes.

Hence, this morning we made these little pink gems:

2013 Thanksgiving-3145

Beet Quinoa Pancakes

I made it exactly as this recipe said – ok, I almost did.  I used  1% milk, instead of whole.  They tasted just like pancakes and were sweeter than the regular variety.  Very tasty!

There you have it!  We’re done cooking for awhile 😛

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

2 thoughts on “2013 Canadian Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

