Nuvango Pillow Review

RL Bear Pillow-0622

Review of the custom Nuvango Pillow

For Kenny’s birthday I designed custom pillows and had them printed by Nuvango (formerly Gelaskins).  At $49 usd each (plus shipping – $15 for two – which is the same price for 1), it’s an investment!

Here’s my review of the process and result.  Mind you – I didn’t get to try them out myself, so it’s based on what my brothers thought of the quality.

Process:

It’s simple.  You upload art and you can choose to resize it or move it around.  I discovered it’s lacking options like supporting transparency, or the option to have it printed on only one side.  It does offer a limited number of backgrounds though, if your art is smaller than the pillow size.

Result:

My brothers said the pillow felt very high quality.  I can see a linen-like texture in the pictures, which I’m very happy about. I hope it’s not actually linen (since linen pills) but we’ll see. The colours look quite accurate and it’s also very plush.

RL Bear Pillow-0604

While being plushy is a pro, it’s also a con. The image of what I ordered did not match what I expected because of how plush it is:

This is what I thought I would see when I look at it head-on.

This is what I thought I would see if I were to look at it directly. Notice the Bear and Chicken are both in full view.  But in reality, you can’t see the Chicken very much.

Cleaning it is something I haven’t tried yet.  I’ll update this review if I ever find out.  It does have a zipper, so it should be possible – although the colours may bleed, so I’d only wash it if something pooped on it and there’s no other choice.

Concealed zipper

Concealed zipper on bottom

Would I do it again?  Yup, unless the Canadian dollar decides to recede even more. 😛 They are a Toronto-based company, so while I was happy to support business at home, I wish it was in Canadian dollars!

Also, I looked out for a discount on Canada Day. There was none.  I also checked on Independence Day, and there was also none.  At least it was fair that way.

Thanks Benny for the pics!

2 thoughts on “Nuvango Pillow Review

Leave a comment